Strength

July 14, 2010

There are different kinds of strength. Physical, mental, emotional. At times I’ve felt stronger at some of these than others.

I’ve always thought that when you’re entering a relationship with someone, if you aren’t already strong, then you need to push yourself to be stronger than you were before. Because now not only are you being strong for yourself, you’re being strong for two. It used to be that I was so unsure of how strong I was, that I wouldn’t allow myself to take on that responsibility for fear of letting someone down.

When I think about it now though, I wonder if I expect too much from myself. We can’t all be pillars of strength, completely comfortable with how we act and deal in different situations. To expect a level of strength above where you are now, right from the start, is perhaps setting yourself up to fail from the beginning, and I think that’s what I’ve been doing.

I’d actually like to hear from other people about what they expect of themselves when they enter into a relationship. Do we all strive to be something more than we are now? Or are we rushing into it without taking proper care and consideration of if we’re capable?

Leave a Reply

