Work

May 9, 2010

Tomorrow I’m back at the summer job I’ve had for the past 3 years, working as a graphic designer in a marketing office here in the falls. From speaking to my boss it sounds like things have gone haywire there, so it will definitely be interesting to see what I encounter.

But this job is a constant reminder of what I have chosen to go for in my life. I could have very easily chosen to stay at this job in the falls, with set hours and a good paycheck. I like the people I work with, though the work itself is pretty unspectacular. It would be the easy thing to do, to stay here, avoiding student debt for years to come.

Instead, I’ve made the choice to go with the harder option, making a go of it in university in Toronto, racking up the debt, and all the stress and confusion that goes with art school.

I won’t lie, the thought of what would’ve been if I chose the easy route has crossed my mind. But not for one day have I regretted the choice I made. I am pushing myself to succeed at this challenge, and at the end of the day I take pride in the fact that I’m trying.

Leave a Reply

