Community

December 12, 2009

The feeling of being in Niagara Falls compared to being in Toronto is startling. Walking around busy downtown Toronto everyday, I always felt alone and completely in my own world, despite being surrounded by a sea of people. In Niagara, when I am on my own I am no less alone than I was in Toronto, yet I feel a stronger connection to the strangers around me. I guess what I’m trying to say is I feel a stronger sense of community here in Niagara than in Toronto. Niagara Falls is very much a city you assimilate into, it becomes your identity. But in Toronto, you have more freedom to create your own identity, and to create your own community free of the rest of the city. It’s a very interesting difference between the two cities. Because I haven’t been in Toronto long enough to create that world for myself, I really can’t fairly say which one I prefer.

2 Responses to “Community”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Toronto takes getting used to, I definitely feel a stronger connection in Toronto now than Niagara Falls.

  2. Adrienne Says:

    me too. but it took a long time, because you’re right, here you have to either find or build your own community. but once it happens it feels really amazing.


Leave a Reply

