End of Semester

December 7, 2009

I have made it to the end of semester 1, but just barely. Near the end I got slammed with a couple of intense projects, and I was starting to lose steam fast. It’s something that happens to me almost every semester, including when I was at Niagara. As the work piles up, I begin to get worn down physically and mentally, and I lose focus quite a bit. It felt worse though at OCAD because the pressure I’m putting on myself to not only finish work, but do as good a job as possible on it, really made me start to lose it a little bit.

I’m looking forward to the winter break, mostly so I can rest and get recharged. Last Saturday at home I spent the day doing nothing but lying on the couch watching TV. Maybe not the most productive life, but you know what, I will be more than happy to live it for a month.

But I feel like now that I’ve gone through semester 1, and I’ve experienced the challenges of OCAD, I feel more prepared to face the assignments of semester 2. I’ve found myself looking at my work in a whole new way, looking deeper for creative solutions, and taking the time to find them. It’s not the easiest thing in the world, but I feel better about myself and my abilities now than when I started in September.

Leave a Reply

