Sundays

September 28, 2009

One of my favourite things in the world is a warm bowl of chili on a cold Sunday evening. It felt nice.

On the bus ride back to Toronto Sunday evening I looked at the sunset and the land around it, and it occured to me that Sunday sunsets feel really hollow and empty. I can’t explain why really.

I’ve been at OCAD for almost a month now, and I’m really happy with how comfortable I feel there. I think I’ve spent more time at OCAD when I don’t have class than at any other school I’ve been to. The fact I was able to land a really cool part time job at OCAD makes things even better. When I’m in the building I feel really motivated to do everything.

All of my classes are extremely interesting and I’m honestly excited to tackle some new concepts and ideas. But the workload, and the standards that OCAD demands, are definitely challenging for me right now, and a little intimidating. I’ll be the first to tell anyone that I still have a long way to go when it comes to my skills as a designer. I’ve got a real issue with taking chances, in that naturally I’ve never been one to take chances. Making the move to Toronto is what I hope to be the first in many chances I take now. I need to explore my ideas more, not be afraid to put what’s in my mind on paper, and not be totally defeated when the final result isn’t what I had in mind. I’ve already had some minor successes and failures, I just have to always remember to never get hung up on something for too long, and to move forward.

2 Responses to “Sundays”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Anthony I enjoy your little insights.

  2. Reg Smith Says:

    Great things are accomplished by great men…you are already a great man son so let loose and show the world..Luv Dad


Leave a Reply

