Chapter.

September 8, 2009

Today is my first full day living in Toronto, living on my own for the first time. Tomorrow is my first day of class at OCAD. Up until last week the idea of me moving felt like something far off in the distance, so much so I didn’t even think of it half the time. On more than one occasion my mom pointed out to me how calm I seemed to be about everything, and how it was a little odd. Sure enough, gradually over the past week, all the emotions hit me.

I’m excited to be going to an excellent school that will truly challenge me and inspire me to do great things. I’m also excited to be in a city with so many amazing things to do, with some truly awesome people I know. I’m nervous about just how challenging school will be. And yes, I’m a bit scared about now being totally self-reliant, on my own for the first time, in the big city. I couldn’t have asked for a more amazing family to be blessed with, so being away from them has definitely brought sadness, along with the friends I still have in Niagara.

I’ve spent my entire life in Niagara Falls, and sure the city has its downfalls, but once you land here in Toronto you begin to look back and appreciate all the great things Niagara truly has. Not saying it’s better than Toronto by any means though.

But overall I do have a great sense of optimism. I was lucky enough to land a great place in a great neighbourhood, with a truly awesome roommate. I will experience many challenges in the near future, but I feel like this whole experience is one big challenge for myself as a person. It’s time to prove to myself and everyone that I have what it takes. Whether or not I sink or swim, in the long run, is up to me.

5 Responses to “Chapter.”

  1. kristen Says:

    <3.
    love you.

  2. Jenn Says:

    This is so fab Anth<3
    I'm so glad you're here. You're gonna do awesome things.

  3. Adrienne Says:

    jenn is a smart lady. she’s right. ❤

  4. Diana Says:

    be fearless!

    you are a good shoulder to lean on, and soon enough many others will know that too.

  5. Angela Says:

    i’m lurking you, and i love you and miss you lots anth ❤
    . .your gonna do great things, don't ever ever ever doubt yourself your very talented and your lucky to have found something that really moves you . .even if it moved you from across the hall to across the province but your just a bus ride away so when in doubt (which i hope is rarely)i'll be on the next greyhound over to sleep on your fouton (if that's cool with you & kristen)


Leave a Reply

